You have until this Saturday to cast your ballot in the Nov. 6 general election by early voting. The polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. today, tomorrow, and Friday, and from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. on Saturday. There are only three polling stations open for early voting, and they are:

DARE COUNTY ADMIN. BLDG., 954 Marshall C. Collins Drive, Manteo



As I already told Beacon Facebook readers, I voted yesterday in Kill Devil Hills around 1:30 p.m. and had to wait about 20 minutes in a short line. A wait is seemingly inevitable: You have to fill out your ballot by hand—there are no computers—and the ballot is lengthy. It will take time for voters who do not know the candidates and are unfamiliar with the six proposed N.C. Constitutional amendments to read and complete it.

You will find a sample copy of the ballot, courtesy of The Outer Banks Sentinel, here: https://bloximages.chicago2.vip.townnews.com/obsentinel.com/content/tncms/assets/v3/editorial/0/c0/0c010b2c-d1af-11e8-b195-932b01b7544b/5bc6959b950fb.pdf.pdf.

On Election Day, many more precincts/polling stations will be open, including the Pitts Center in Southern Shores. Voting hours will be 6:30 a.m. until 7:30 p.m. The Sentinel published a list of all the polling stations here:


Early voting in our area has reportedly been brisk, even though North Carolina does not have a U.S. Senate race this year and Congressman Walter B. Jones is running unopposed for his U.S. District 3 House seat. Dare Board of Elections Director Michele Barnes told The Sentinel that 5,524 votes had been cast through Oct. 29, not counting absentee votes.

I strongly urge you to take advantage of early voting in the remaining days. Don’t be discouraged if you arrive and the line is out into the parking lot. I believe the lines on Election Day are going to be FAR worse.


The Beacon has learned that Rod McCaughey, a Southern Shores resident homeowner, is running a write-in campaign for a seat on the Soil and Water Conservation District Board of Supervisors, a nonpartisan office. There are two seats open on the five-member Board of Supervisors, each of which has a term of four years. These offices appear on your ballot after all of the judicial offices. You may write in two names.

Mr. McCaughey is active in the Southern Shores Civic Assn. He serves on the SSCA Board of Directors and is chairperson of the Bylaws/Long-range Planning/Architectural Review Board committee. Now that his and his wife’s children are grown and he is retired, Mr. McCaughey told The Beacon that he would like to participate actively in civic and municipal activities that he didn’t have time for earlier.

According to the Dare County website, “protecting and enhancing water and soil quality is the mission of the Dare Soil and Water Conservation District.” For more info about the Conservation District, see https://www.darenc.com/departments/soil-and-water.


I previously covered the election races in a blog posted 9/26/18, but it doesn’t hurt to publish a refresher.


In N.C. Senate district one, which includes Dare County, Democrat D. Cole Phelps is running against Republican Bob Steinburg to succeed Republican Bill Cook, who decided not to run for re-election. Mr. Steinburg currently represents House district one in the General Assembly. Dare County is in House district six.*

Running to succeed Representative Beverly Boswell in House district six are Democrat Tess Judge and Republican Bobby Hanig. Ms. Boswell was defeated earlier this year in the Republican primary.

Each of these offices is for a term of two years.


There are two contested races for seats on the seven-member Dare County Board of Commissioners: Republican Anne P. Petera is running against Democrat Ervin Bateman for the at-large seat held by retiring Commissioner Jack Shea, a Repubican and Southern Shores resident; and Democrat Rosemarie Doshier is challenging incumbent Commissioner Jim Tobin, a Republican, for the district one seat. District one covers Roanoke Island and the Dare County mainland.

Incumbent Commissioner Rob Ross, a Republican, is running unopposed in district two, which includes Nags Head, Colington, and Kill Devil Hills. Southern Shores is in district three with Kitty Hawk and Duck. Steve House, a Republican elected in 2016, represents our district.

Each of the commissioners’ terms is for four years.


Democrat Jen Alexander is challenging Republican incumbent Joe Tauber in BOE district two (NH, Colington, KDH), and Democrat Margaret Lawler, a Southern Shores resident, is running unopposed in district three (TOSS, KH, Duck). Ms. Lawler is vice-chairperson of the Board.


Current Register of Deeds Vanzolla McMurran, a Democrat, faces a challenge from Republican Cheryl House; and Republicans Dean Martin Tolson and J.D. (Doug) Doughtie are running unopposed for their respective offices of Clerk of the Dare County Superior Court and Dare County Sheriff.

All of the Dare County Superior and District Court judges, whose four-year terms are expiring, are running unopposed. They include:

Superior Court: J.C. Cole, Democrat; and Jerry R. Tillett, Republican

District Court: Robert Parks Trivette, Democrat; Eula E. Reid, Democrat; and Meader Harriss, Republican.

Incumbent District Attorney R. Andrew Womble, a Republican, is also running unopposed.


On 10/20/18, I posted a blog about the judicial candidates. On Nov. 6, N.C. voters will be electing one N.C. Supreme Court justice and three justices to the N.C. Court of Appeals, or 1/7 of the State’s highest court and 1/5 of the intermediate appellate court. If you read the N.C. Judicial Voter Guide 2018, you know a little about who the candidates are.

The candidates for the Supreme Court are sitting Associate Justice Barbara Jackson, a Republican; self-employed Raleigh general practitioner Christopher Anglin, also a Republican; and self-employed Durham civil rights attorney Anita Earls, a Democrat.

Here is how the seats up for election in the Court of Appeals break down:

  • Sitting Court of Appeals Judge John S. Arrowood, a Democrat who was appointed by Governor Roy Cooper, is running against Andrew T. Heath, a Republican who was a budget director under former Governor Pat McCrory, for re-election to his seat. This seat was expected to be eliminated by the Republican-controlled General Assembly in its campaign to shrink the Court of Appeals, but when Judge Douglas McCullough, a Republican, resigned, the seat survived, and Governor Cooper appointed Judge Arrowood, of Charlotte, to it.
  • Wake County District Court Judge Jefferson G. Griffin, a Republican; Democrat Tobias Hampson, a general practitioner and partner with a Raleigh law firm; and New Hanover/Pender County District Court Judge Sandra Alice Ray, a Republican, are vying for seat 2.
  • The election for seat 3 also has three candidates: Republican Chuck Kitchen, an attorney and former county attorney (Durham, Alamance) with 38 years of experience; Democrat Allegra Katherine Collins, a Campbell Law School professor and appellate attorney; and Libertarian Michael Monaco, Sr., a former general practitioner who now lists his occupation as product development.

Ann G. Sjoerdsma, 10/31/18

* District one in the N.C. Senate includes Dare, Beaufort, Camden, Currituck, Gates, Hyde, Pasquotank, and Perquimans counties. District six in the N.C. House of Representatives encompasses Dare, Beaufort, Hyde, and Washington counties. Camden, Currituck, Pasquotank, and Perquimans counties are in House district one, which Mr. Steinburg currently represents, along with Chowan and Tyrell counties.  

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s